Champion Powers

So I’ve been DJing with Minimusic for about 8 months now. Lol at the guy looking right at the girl’s chest in the picture, btw! Anyway, I really enjoy it, it’s always good experience, you meet people, get to party, listen to lots of music and it’s a job! Anyway, I was unexpectedly visited by a trainee last week and tried to pass on all my knowledge and tips and thought I might collect them here. I mean, with all the 10 or so parties I’ve done, I’m pretty much an expert, right? 🙂

1. Keep your cool.

When a song bombs, don’t take it personally! Everybody has different taste, so for any given song, some people will love it and some people will hate it. But the coolest people will go along with anything. It’s good to acknowledge that somebody doesn’t like a song (just with eye contact, body language), but that doesn’t mean the song sucks. Have a sense of humour and welcome them to suggest something else. Don’t panic. This also goes for the really good songs, don’t let it go to your head, just stay calm throughout it all. That way they think you’re in control (and you will be).

2. Have back-ups.

Have songs ready to go in case you can’t find your next song. I mess up at every single gig. Sort of. End up rushing to pick the next song. Don’t get stuck! Batman has his bats. You have Michael Jackson and Ke$ha.

3. Take risks.

You’ve got to try things. Experiment. Not like a crazy person. Just every now and then. Or else you won’t improve and won’t find out how good you could actually become. Be adventurous as a rule. Try something out. You’ll figure out some logic of how to tell whether a song will work. Your intuition will get better with time. But don’t settle on old habits. Shake it up!

4. Use the mic.

Don’t get lazy and rely on the music. I don’t really use it enough. But hey, I’ll keep practising and gradually get more confident or so I hope. Using the microphone makes things personal and lets you connect with the people. Just be yourself. You don’t have to be hilarious. You’ll get used to the different vibes that different parties have and how you can lift the mood. Be self-deprecating.

 

Okay that’s all I’ve got for now. ‘Cause baby tonight, the DJ got us fallin’ in love again! Don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten about you. How do you know? You just do. Perfection is your friend and your enemy. Be like water, my friend.

About karnok

A legendary ninja.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

